Concept 2018

/Concept 2018
Concept 20182018-02-16T18:24:25+00:00

Concept RAF 2018

Green economy in Africa: Challenges and opportunities

For the past four years, the consecutive editions of the Rebranding Africa Forum (RAF) have methodically embraced the theoretical scope of African emergence, and catalyzed synergies and initiatives towards this achievement, considering the challenges ahead. These overarching challenges include: the eradication of poverty, good governance, the rational and sustainable management of natural capital or African natural resources that are the subject of fierce global greed, even as the continent has more than ever to cope with the explosion of its demographic, as shown by the fourth RAF; the diversification of its (windfall) economy whose growth is based on parameters that it does not control; the equitable redistribution of the benefits of growth; investment in training, industrialization, innovation, biodiversity or the preservation of the environment, the poor being the most vulnerable to its degradation. All these challenges indicate the prerequisites, corollaries and outlines of the so-called green economy, and which logically will be the theme of the fifth edition of the RAF.

The green economy is actually defined as “an economy that produces human well-being and ensures social equity, while significantly reducing environmental risks and ecological scarcities” (UNEP, 2011). Thus it’s dual dimensional, one of them being regulatory and related to environmental constraints, and the other economical and bearing on the opportunities for profit and investment of new eco-activities. The bet of growth driven by green business therefore lies in the articulation of these two dimensions. However, this equation will be less focused on creating sufficient green economic opportunities to offset losses from environmental constraints. It will be more about transforming these constraints themselves into multiple opportunities, sustainably exploiting natural capital and thus growth, innovate and create new green technologies, efficient and more profitable, new eco-jobs, labor-intensive, creators of wealth and inclusive well-being professions.

Most developed countries have understood that, to emerge from the financial crisis that has been raging since 2008, have invested heavily in green energy and green industries, with many studies showing that in the long term, green investments are more profitable and job creators, with the added bonus of preserving natural capital and improving living conditions. Given its incomparable green potential (water, sun, soil and subsoil resources, etc.), it would be absurd for Africa not to initiate a similar economic transition. The green economy is neither a fashion to hold on to, nor an unaffordable luxury, but a vital necessity and an opportunity to seize imperatively, in a collaborative and meticulous approach.

  • What political, financial, fiscal, normative and socio-cultural leverages are necessary to activate this transition to the green culture and economy in Africa?
  • How can the ecological potential of the continent be better exploited in order to operate, at low cost, the industrial transformation needed?
  • How to develop and make the most of the multiple economic and financial opportunities that result?
  • How to develop the green market at regional and continental levels, with subsidies distorting the rule of competition on an international scale?
  • How to attract investors in the green economy and the kind of partnerships to consider to acquire and develop related knowledge and technics?
  • How can we develop professions, ecological jobs, with respect to local and regional specificities?
  • How to make them the pillars of the economy of tomorrow, of a shared, inclusive and sustainable development on the continent?

It is around these major issues that the fifth edition of the RAF will gather on 5 and 6 October 2018 in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, the most appropriate skills, as well as economic and financial actors and partners wishing to participate in the takeoff of the green economy in Africa. The theme of this 5th edition is: “Challenges and opportunities of the green economy in Africa”.

Panels

Panel I : The green economy in Africa: state of play, issues and challenges
Panel II : Financing the ecological transition in Africa: modalities and perspectives
Panel III : Investing in Ecological Economy in Africa: Opportunities and Key Sectors

LEADERS FROM AROUND THE WORLD ARE MEETING IN THE COUNTRY OF TRUSTWORTHY PEOPLE OCTOBER 5-6, 2018

6ème édition - Bruxelles 4-5 Octobre 2019
  • en

Concept 2018

/Concept 2018
Concept 20182018-04-03T14:26:34+00:00

Concept RAF 2018

Défis et opportunités de l’économie verte en Afrique

Depuis quatre ans, les éditions successives du Rebranding Africa Forum (RAF) déblayent, avec méthode, le champ théorique de l’émergence africaine, et catalysent les synergies et les initiatives pour y parvenir, à la lumière des défis à relever. Au rang de ces défis primordiaux, l’éradication de la pauvreté, la bonne gouvernance, la gestion rationnelle et durable du capital naturel ou des ressources naturelles africaines qui font l’objet d’une convoitise mondiale féroce, alors même que le continent en a plus que jamais besoin pour faire face à l’explosion de sa démographie, comme l’a montré le quatrième RAF ; la diversification de son économie (de rente) dont la croissance repose sur des paramètres dont elle n’a pas la maîtrise ; la redistribution équitable des fruits de la croissance ; l’investissement dans la formation, l’industrialisation, l’innovation, la biodiversité ou encore la préservation de l’environnement, les populations pauvres étant les plus vulnérables face à sa dégradation. Tous ces défis indiquent en effet les préalables, corollaires et contours de ce qu’il est convenu d’appeler l’économie verte, et qui fort logiquement fera l’objet de la cinquième édition du RAF.

L’économie verte se définit en effet comme « une économie qui produit un mieux-être humain et assure l’équité sociale, tout en réduisant de manière significative les risques sur l’environnement et les pénuries écologiques » (PNUE, 2011). Ainsi entendue, elle comporte deux dimensions, l’une réglementaire liée aux contraintes environnementales, et l’autre économique portant sur les opportunités de profit et d’investissement des nouvelles éco-activités. L’équation d’une croissance verte réside par conséquent dans l’articulation de ces deux dimensions. Bien comprise, cette équation visera cependant moins à créer suffisamment d’opportunités économiques vertes pour compenser les pertes liées aux contraintes environnementales. Il s’agira davantage de transformer ces contraintes elles-mêmes en opportunités multiples, assurer durablement l’exploitation du capital naturel et ainsi la croissance, innover et créer de nouvelles technologies vertes, efficaces et plus rentables, de nouveaux eco-emplois, des professions et métiers verts et verdissants, à forte intensité de main d’œuvre, créateurs de richesse et de mieux-être inclusif.

La majorité des pays développés l’ont compris qui, pour sortir de la crise financière qui sévit depuis 2008, ont massivement investi dans les énergies et les industries vertes, de nombreuses études montrant qu’à long terme, les investissements verts sont plus rentables et créateurs d’emplois, avec en prime la préservation du capital naturel et l’amélioration partagée des conditions de vie. Au regard de son incomparable potentiel vert (eau, soleil, ressources du sol et du sous-sol, etc.), il serait dès lors absurde que l’Afrique n’amorce une transition économique similaire. L’économie verte n’est pour elle ni une mode à laquelle s’arrimer, ni un luxe qu’elle ne saurait se payer, mais bien une nécessité vitale et une opportunité à saisir impérativement, avec méthode et concertation toutefois.

  • Quels leviers politiques, financiers, économiques fiscaux, normatifs et socio-culturels activer pour opérer cette transition vers la culture et l’économie vertes en Afrique ?
  • Comment exploiter au mieux le potentiel vert dont dispose le continent pour opérer, à faible coût, les sauts industriels dont nous avons besoin ?
  • Comment développer et tirer au mieux profit des multiples opportunités économiques et financières vertes qui en résultent ?
  • Comment développer le marché du vert aux plans régionaux et continental, les subventions faussant le jeu de la concurrence au plan international ?
  • Comment attirer les investisseurs dans l’économie verte et quels partenariats envisager pour acquérir et développer les savoirs et techniques y afférents ?
  • Comment développer chez nous les professions, les métiers verts et verdissants, en fonction des spécificités locales et régionales ?
  • Comment en faire les piliers de l’économie de demain, d’un développement partagé, inclusif et durable sur le continent ?

C’est autour de ces enjeux majeurs que la cinquième édition du RAF réunira les 5 et 6 octobre 2018 à Ouagadougou, au Burkina Faso, les compétences les plus indiquées, ainsi que les acteurs et partenaires économiques et financiers désireux de jouer opportunément leur partition dans l’essor de l’économie verte en Afrique. Thème retenu pour cette 5ème édition : « Défis et opportunités de l’économie verte en Afrique ».

Panels

Panel I : L’économie verte en Afrique : état des lieux, enjeux et défis
Panel II : Financer la transition écologique en Afrique : modalités et perspectives
Panel III : Investir dans l’économie écologique en Afrique : opportunités et secteurs clés

LES LEADERS DU MONDE ENTIER SE DONNENT RENDEZ-VOUS AU PAYS DES HOMMES INTEGRES LES 5 et 6 OCTOBRE 2018 AU BURKINA FASO