Acknowledgement and tribute

Apart from the Rebranding Africa Forum, whose third edition took place in Brussels between October 13 and 15, 2016, the pan-African journal Notre Afrik, published by the press group, Samori Media Connection, awarded for the third consecutive year, its awards of recognition and tributes. The Rebranding Africa Awards acknowledges outstanding personalities who through everyday actions in their various fields of focus, map out the path of development and lead others to change their views about our continent. In so doing, these distinctions are now a symbol for a more dynamic, proactive and more open Africa to the world.


Development Champion

Attributed to a major player whose leadership, vision and exceptional actions has helped in the development of the African continent. In 2014, the Rwandan, Donald Kaberuka was rewarded for “his leadership at the helm of the African Development Bank and his deeds for the development of the African continent “. Former Director-General of the United Nations Industrial Development Organisation (Onudi) the Sierra Leonean Kandeh Yumkella, won the prize in 2015 for his outstanding contribution to sustainable energy on the African continent. Last year, Carlos Lopes, former Executive Secretary of the UN Economic Community for Africa (ECA) received the award for his commitment to the endogenous development of the continent and the mobilisation of its domestic resources.


Lifetime Achievement

This award recognizes an exceptional career and highlights the invaluable contribution of a man or woman who has greatly stimulated development and emergence throughout his career. It was the eminent contribution of the Togolese Gervais Koffi Djondo, honorary president of the pan-African banking group Ecobank and chairman of the Board of Directors of the airline Asky, who was acknowledged in 2014. Following him, was the famous Cameroonian saxophonist Manu Dibango, considered as the pioneer of afro-jazz, who was honoured in 2015. In 2016, the prize was given to Fr. Godfrey Nzamujo, director of the Songhai Regional Center for his various researches on development, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy and soil fertilisation.


Empowering Women

Awarded to a woman or a group of women involved in the implementation of projects for emergence and development, this trophy distinguished in 2014 “Jjiguene Tech Hub“. Co-founded by Marième Jamme, this 100% female project set up in Dakar, Senegal, has greatly invested in the training of women in basic computer technology. In 2015, Elisabeth Medou, general manager of Orange Cameroon and first African woman to hold a senior position with the French operator. Cécile Kyenge, former Italian Minister for Integration, Member of the European Parliament, was honoured in 2016 for her struggle for integration and fight against racism.


Media Leadership

It is a trophy that highlights the outstanding press work, especially to reward the media that has illustrated itself through its actions in favour of the African continent. Constant Nemalé, CEO of the television channel, Africa24, won it in 2014, for having imposed its media as “one of the vectors of communication among the most useful to the radiance of the African continent“. The year before last, this distinction was given to Burundi’s private media, which “resists with heroism and professionalism and continues to communicate about the dramatic situations happening behind closed doors in their country”. In 2016, it was awarded to the journalist, professor of geopolitics at the “Institut Pratique de Journalisme” (Paris Dauphine), Francis Laloupo for his relevant (indispensable/valuable) radio programs on the Africa N°1 radio.



The aim of this prize is to distinguish the talent and creative aspect of an African key-actor. It was awarded in 2014 to Kenyan Evans Wadongo, a young computer engineer who revolutionised the lives of thousands of rural people in his country by designing thousands of solar lamps to replace kerosene which is more expensive. Then it was the turn of the Senegalese Awa Caba to be rewarded in 2015, for his e-project Sooretul, an online space for women engaged in the processing of local fruits and cereals, intended to boost their production sales. It was followed in 2016 by Christian Toé, CEO of Genuine Concept for the Laafi Bag project, which offers a lightweight, self-contained refrigerating bag equipped with a photovoltaic module to maintain and regulate the temperature within it, so as to convey vaccines and other sensitive products in the most critical areas without interruption of the cold chain.


Business Leadership

Launched during the second edition of the RAF in 2015, it aims at distinguishing an actor whose approach, positioning and leadership has been particularly prominent in the business world and / or favourable to African business. It went to Henriette Kaboré, President of the Burkina Faso Enterprise House and CEO of BTM Immo, which is an exception in building and public works, a sector dominated by men. In 2016, it appointed Paul K. Fokam, Chairman of Afriland First Bank Group for his career in the business community. Starting from (almost) nothing, he built an empire that englobes a banking group, a private university (PK Fokam Institute of Excellence), a London-based online television (Vox Africa) and a publishing house.


Governance Leadership

This trophy of honour and recognition is attributed to an African leader who has demonstrated his commitment to an Africa resolutely in step with the challenges and changes of the world today. It was awarded in 2015 to the President of Senegal, Macky Sall, particularly for his extraordinary and exceptional capacity to mobilise resources to finance the “Emerging Senegal Plan”, considered in the continent as a model for development policy. In 2016, it was the president of Burkina Faso, Roch Marc Christian Kaboré, who was honoured, notably for having succeeded in bringing peace to his country after a period of great turbulence.